About PEC

The 78th Physical Electronics Conference at the University of Hampshire  follows in the tradition of annual PEC meetings held on university campuses and research labs in North America. This topical conference provides a yearly forum for the dissemination and discussion of novel and fundamental theoretical and experimental research in the physics, chemistry, biology, and engineering of surfaces and interfaces. It includes the prestigious Nottingham Prize competition for best presentation based on doctoral research. Over 75 years the emphases of the conference have changed, yet the meeting remains centered in its basis of fundamental science at material interfaces. Central themes now include the interfaces of metals, semiconductors, ionic conductors, dielectrics, insulators, fluids, porous materials, and the wealth of biomaterials.

Physicists, chemists, and engineers, with interests in these fields, come together to present and discuss experimental and theoretical research on exposed (gas-solid or gas-liquid) surfaces, or buried (liquid-solid and solid-solid) interfaces. Representative topics include (but are not limited to) electronic, chemical, magnetic, and structural properties of interfaces; energetics, kinetics, and dynamics of physical and chemical transformations at surfaces; formation, assembly, structural and electronic properties, and modeling of nanoscale surface architectures; effects of electron correlation at surfaces, and topological insulators; interfacial interactions of biological materials; impacts of interface chirality; mechanisms of film growth and interface evolution; and transfer of energy, electrons, or ions across materials interfaces. New methods/techniques for interrogation of interfaces, novel devices or sensors, and new applications for structurally and chemically tailored interfaces also fall within the scope of this meeting.

Previous PEC Hosts


1966 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1967 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1968 University of Minnesota

1969 Yale University

1970 University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee

1971 National Bureau of Standards

1972 Sandia Laboratories

1973 University of California – Berkeley

1974 Bell Laboratories

1975 Penn State University

1976 University of Wisconsin – Madison

1977 Stanford University

1978 Oak Ridge National Laboratory

1979 University of Maryland

1980 Cornell University

1981 Montana State University

1982 Georgia Institute of Technology

1983 Sandia National Laboratories

1984 Princeton University

1985 University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee

1986 University of Texas – Austin

1987 IBM Almaden Research

1988 Brookhaven National Laboratory

1989 University of Washington

1990 National Institute of Standards

1991 Rutgers University – Piscataway

1992 University of California – Irvine

1993 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

1994 University of Tennessee

1995 Arizona State University

1996 Boston University

1997 University of Oregon

1998 Pennsylvania State University

1999 University of California – Berkeley

2000 Louisiana State University

2001 Sandia National Laboratories

2002 Georgia Institute of Technology

2003 Cornell University

2004 University of California – Davis

2005 University of Wisconsion – Madison

2006 Princeton University

2007 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2008 University of California – Riverside

2009 Rutgers University – New Brunswick

2010 University of Wisconsin – Milkwaukee

2011 University at Albany

2012 University of Texas – Dallas

2013 North Carolina State University

2014 University of Wisconson – La Crosse

2015 Rutgers University – New Brunswick

2016 University of Arkansas – Fayetteville

2017 Portland State University

2018 University of New Hampshire