Dr. Mike Alvarez

Executive Committee Diversity Chair

Mike Alvarez is Postdoctoral Diversity and Innovation Scholar in the Department of Communication. Broadly speaking, his research examines communication about suicide and end of life in interpersonal and mediated contexts. He is the author of the forthcoming book, The Paradox of Suicide and Creativity, and has completed a memoir, The Color of Dusk. In his spare time, Mike enjoys reading sci-fi and transgressive queer literature, playing survival horror video games, and playing with his two newly adopted kittens.

Hannah Fazekas

Dr. Hannah Fazekas

Executive Committee Orientation Chair

Hannah Fazekas is a postdoctoral research associate in the lab of Bill McDowell in the Department of Natural Resources and the Environment (NREN) at UNH. Her research focuses on how high-frequency sensor networks can be used to provide novel understanding of the emergent properties of river networks, biogeochemical cycles, and elemental stoichiometry. In addition to her research, Hannah enjoys hiking and camping, reading, and trying new breweries.

Krista Fleck

Dr. Krista Fleck

Executive Committee President

Krista Fleck is a postdoctoral research associate in the lab of Dr. Vicki Jeffers in Molecular, Cellular and Biomedical Sciences (MCBS) at UNH. Her research focuses on the molecular mechanisms driving parasite differentiation and survival in Toxoplasma gondii. Toxoplasma is a widespread human and animal pathogen, infecting a third of the world’s population, and is currently incurable. She is studying the factors involved in transcription initiation that regulate gene expression in these parasites to identify potential therapeutic targets. In addition to her research, Krista loves outdoor activities, playing board and card games, and spending time with her dogs.